easy way to tell if an app is using aemulor?

You cannot post here, but its included for searching historical issues

Moderators: aemulor, admin

Locked
epistaxsis

easy way to tell if an app is using aemulor?

Post by epistaxsis » Fri Jan 02, 2004 6:27 pm

If I do a an adjust click on the aemulor icno - does this tell me what is running and using aemulor?

I ask this because I think that my favourite game, pushy11, may actually be running natively!!! :D :D

OK so i could quit aemulor and reboot the machine - but I is lazy :wink:

ianhamilton
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:49 am
Contact:

Post by ianhamilton » Sat Jan 03, 2004 7:01 am

For multi-tasking applications the easiest way is to do *Filters and look for 'Aemulor Post' entries. Otherwise set 'Only run if dragged onto Aemulor' in the config and as long as it isn't in the list shown for Applications it will run natively. Run it and see if it works.

Ian

epistaxsis

Post by epistaxsis » Sat Jan 03, 2004 3:09 pm

Decided to try pushy2 without aemulor &...

It blew up!

So it needs it then.

No sound though :-(

adrian: want a copy?

Although I think the boy's too busy getting on with Aemulor Pro eh?

& trying to kill iyonixes :wink:

although having said that I think my wife prefers it this way.... :lol:

ianhamilton
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 9:49 am
Contact:

Post by ianhamilton » Sat Jan 03, 2004 3:55 pm

Sound support is only in the Pro version of Aemulor.

epistaxsis

Post by epistaxsis » Sat Jan 03, 2004 6:32 pm

:roll: :roll: :roll:

forgot...

User avatar
aemulor
Site Admin
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 9:32 am
Location: Purley, Surrey
Contact:

Pushy...

Post by aemulor » Mon Jan 05, 2004 12:47 am

Do you know who released Pushy? Was it a PD game?

Trying to remember if it was by a guy I knew at Uni...

Cheers,

/Neil/
Aemulor - the 26 bit ARM emulator for XScale

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Mon Jan 05, 2004 2:57 am

> If I do an adjust click on the aemulor icon - does this tell me what is
> running and using aemulor?

LOL! I sometimes have to check myself what's actually being emulated; we tried to make emulation transparent; perhaps it was too successful? :-)

I guess there'd better be a list of emulated tasks soon; it /is/ on my 'to do' list. As Ian says, the filter list is one way for now. Or you can try "Quit->Emulator too" and look at the app list in the prompt window.

> No sound though
> adrian: want a copy?

Yes, why not? It'd be better to find any problems before first release than after. Send it to adrian@aemulor.com or upload to ftp.aemulor.com please.

> Although I think the boy's too busy getting on with Aemulor Pro eh?

Nah, nag me about 'Morpheus' in a few months time ;-)
To Neil: Ahem, yes, I'm working full-time on Pro.

> & trying to kill iyonixes

Still not doing too well on that score, here.... so far I seem to have built a "not Adrian's machine" program. I cannot get this machine to fail at all. If anybody out there has a pre-production machine and Pulse does fail, please let me know.

To Ian: thanks for running the tests. Without the feedback from you (plural) Pulse wouldn't exist. As I said, I've never seen one of these freezes here. I'm programming blind. Again!

> Trying to remember if it was by a guy I knew at Uni...

Anyone I knew? :-) Never heard of the game before AFAICR.

Adrian

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Mon Jan 05, 2004 3:22 am

Is this the guy you're after, Neil?...

http://www.argonet.co.uk/users/rfredw/

... or just the guy with the downloads. He's all I've found on a Google search. Don't know him myself.

Adrian

User avatar
aemulor
Site Admin
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 9:32 am
Location: Purley, Surrey
Contact:

Post by aemulor » Mon Jan 05, 2004 8:46 am

Hmm...wasnt the game I was thinking of, althought the /concept/ is the same. The guy at uni (called Graham ISTR) has written quite a sophisticated game based on the block-pushing puzzle strategy.

/Neil/
Aemulor - the 26 bit ARM emulator for XScale

epistaxsis

Post by epistaxsis » Mon Jan 05, 2004 6:59 pm

thats the game!

As per adrians URL.

After it appeared on a cover disc in 1996 I still haven't finished it :roll:

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:14 pm

After it appeared on a cover disc in 1996 I still haven't finished it
I've got programming projects that old that I still haven't come close to finishing. One or two of them have even seen 3 different releases of the C/C++ development suite :!:

Adrian

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Sun Feb 01, 2004 2:49 pm

epistaxsis wrote:although having said that I think my wife prefers it this way.... :lol:
Ummm, yes, I can see why! :lol:
Works now, silence no more...

PS. I've made it to 'Edwin', how am I doing?

epistaxsis

Post by epistaxsis » Sun Feb 01, 2004 3:40 pm

better than me! :oops:

& that'll be one copy of Aepro sold then :D

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Tue Feb 03, 2004 3:32 am

You've got some catching up to do, I completed another 6 levels at the weekend! :P

Locked