Geminus!

Informal forum to keep you all informed on development progress

Moderators: aemulor, admin

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Geminus!

Post by sedm0784 » Mon Nov 01, 2004 12:05 pm

Well, I placed my Geminus order today, and I'm very excited about it!

Any more news on the ETA, Mr Lees? I am impatient! :D

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Wed Nov 03, 2004 4:10 am

Still on target for beta release in 2 weeks (unless something goes really pear-shaped)....do you have the hardware to help with testing?

Adrian

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Post by sedm0784 » Wed Nov 03, 2004 9:59 am

Currently, no, but I ordered a second LCD and video card from your colleague, Mr Spellings, on Monday. He said you should be getting the stock in on the 5th, so hopefully I should be all set up 2 weeks from now, if you would care to bless me with beta-tester status.

Rich

User avatar
druck
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 8:02 pm
Location: Gloucestershire
Contact:

Post by druck » Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:18 pm

Will it be possible for Geminus to support ulta high resolution LCD monitors? Such as the IBM T221 and Viewsonic VP2290b, which are 22.4" widescreen LCDs running at 3840x2400. They are driven as either four 1920x1200 or in the case of the IBM two 1920x2400 displays. Incidentally prices are around ?5500 for the IBM, and ?4500 for the Viewsonic, which is about half 2 years ago, so might be plausable before too long.

Cheers
---Dave
The ARM Club www.armclub.org.uk

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:14 am

Not at their native resolutions, unfortunately. The kernel's VDU drivers can only render to a single frame buffer, so - to avoid extensive work on the kernel (for now!) - Geminus reprograms the MMU to map the appropriate parts of a virtual frame buffer to each physical screen.

The XScale MMU has a granularity of 1KB using 'Tiny' pages (previous CPUs 4KB, of course), allowing each physical screen to have a width that is a multiple of 256 pixels (32bpp modes), hence 1024x, 1280x, 1536x, 1792x and 2048x are all okay, but not 1920x.

Perhaps Geminus 2 will update the VDU drivers themselves, but this needs to be done by, or in connection with, Castle ;)

Aside: the constraint on screen width becomes a constraint on height in portrait modes, and lower-depth modes are further restricted to 512n pixels (16bpp) or 1024n pixels (8bpp).

Adrian

User avatar
druck
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 8:02 pm
Location: Gloucestershire
Contact:

Post by druck » Fri Nov 26, 2004 12:30 am

Ah well I'll just have to wait until they bring out an enhanced model with a resolution of 4096x2560. Thanks for the reply.

Cheers
---Dave
The ARM Club www.armclub.org.uk

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Post by sedm0784 » Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:30 pm

According to Neil, my monitor should be arriving tomorrow.

Can I have a beta version of Geminus, please? :)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Wed Dec 08, 2004 5:41 pm

I've got a few people awaiting an official beta release now, so I do need to wrap things up v soon. I'll add you to my list of guinea pigs. ;)

Just a couple of changes & bug fixes still to do...

Adrian

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Post by sedm0784 » Wed Dec 08, 2004 6:09 pm

Rats! I'm going on holiday for a month on Saturday. :(

I take it you won't be doing all your wrapping up tonight?

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Thu Dec 09, 2004 3:40 am

Aw, okay, since I can't guarantee the beta will be ready by the time you leave (though, I am - as ever! - still hopeful), here's the latest alpha version for you to play with:

http://freespace.virgin.net/a.m.lees/alpha/rcheng.zip

This is a demo version built for your MAC address and it will have expired by the time you return, but we should definitely have released the first version of Geminus by then.

Here's hoping that your monitor arrives as planned...

Adrian

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Post by sedm0784 » Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:46 am

:D:D:D:D

You, sir, are a superstar.

And the monitor is here!

Now I've just got to persuade my girlfriend that, although I have a before-we-go ToDo list that is as long as both my arms and some of other people's, playing with dual-head support on my Iyonix is something that really needs to be done.

How long can packing take, anyway? It's just chucking some underpants in a rucksack...

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Back from holiday!

Post by sedm0784 » Thu Jan 13, 2005 10:06 am

And I now have two monitors and two video cards.

But my Gemius Alpha has expired!

Any news on the beta, or may I have another alpha copy?

Hope you had a merry festive season.

Rich

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 381
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 11:25 pm
Location: Cambridge, England
Contact:

Post by admin » Thu Jan 13, 2005 8:29 pm

Uploaded. Same URL as before. Enjoy!

sedm0784
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:40 pm

Post by sedm0784 » Fri Jan 14, 2005 8:54 pm

Having a bit of trouble with this one.

Double-clicking on it gives the error "Memory cannot be moved". Double-clicking on it again, sometimes gives the same error, but sometimes causes the computer to freeze, mouse not moving and caps lock key having no effect. The reboot button still works fine, however.

Running it after a boot truncated with the escape key (shift-booting is broken here) gives the error "Filing system or path BootResources: not present". Attempting to run it again hangs the computer, mouse not moving, but this time the numlock and caps lock keys are working, albeit with a bit of a delay.

Any ideas?

Rich

User avatar
druck
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 8:02 pm
Location: Gloucestershire
Contact:

Post by druck » Fri Jan 14, 2005 9:06 pm

"Memory cannot be moved" is an old favourite of mine, it occurs when you try to grow a dynamic area beyond its limit (or shrink below zero), incase thats any help to Adrian.

Cheers
---Dave
The ARM Club www.armclub.org.uk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest